Lock WordPress Posts Automatically
If you’re a lone author on your WordPress site, then you may not be aware of this new post locking feature for WordPress sites. If you work on a busy WordPress site in a team, you may find this post locking feature included in WordPress 3.6.
This feature is to prevent multiple WordPress users from editing the same post at the same time. When you log on your WordPress Dashboard, go to Posts section >> All Posts, you will see if any other WordPress editors are working on posts. Before the post title, you will see a lock icon if someone is editing this post and below the post title, you will see a warning like “*** is currently editing”.
Taking Over the Locked WordPress Post
If you decide to open up the post anyway, you can do that. When you trying to open or edit a locked post, you will get another warning message like “This content is currently locked. If you take over, *** will be blocked from continuing to edit.” You can hit ‘Take over’ to kick out other WordPress users. The original author whom was kicked over will get a message like “*** has taken over and is currently editing.” The original author at this time will also see that their post is now locked by the person who took over.